I’m Proud…Period.

I’m proud.  Period.  End of discussion.  No argument.  I am giving just a little Monday wrap-up to last Sunday at church and specifically the morning message.  Most preachers would say that they are the ones that benefit most from the message because they have been studying and thinking all week long about the passage.  Paul even tells Timothy that the farmer who labors needs to be the “first partaker of the fruits” (2 Timothy 2:6).

I don’t know about you, but I feel that I have tasted of some pretty sobering “fruit” these past couple of weeks in 1 Corinthians 5 and 6.  When I sit each week at my little desk in the corner of my bedroom with a cup of coffee nearby, Bible flipped open, I investigate the passage from all sides and work to find out what God is saying in those verses.  So I am being totally honest in saying that when I come to a passage on incest and lawsuits I am really working hard to figure out how to make appropriate applications (even knowing there will be children sitting in the pews).

But as I continued to study I began to realize quickly that Paul is really going deeper into the inner recesses of the heart to find something more sinister and grotesque lurking: pride.  The issues in Corinth were the manifestations of an even greater problem under the surface.  I feel heavy and sobered preaching these messages, not primarily thinking about your pride, but mine!  To know that my heart right now can generate the most degenerate thoughts is scary and fills me with horror.  Is this what Paul was thinking when he said in Romans 7:24, “O wretched man that I am, who shall deliver me from the body of this death?”

Let us be sensitive to pride.  It is so subtle.  It dresses up and sprays on great cologne and perfume.  It can look great and be respectable.  It is so bad.  It put Jesus on the Cross.  It can go to church and sing “Great is Thy Faithfulness” and give in the offering.  One thing pride cannot tolerate is humility.  Let us dress ourselves in humility of mind, heart and action this week (1 Peter 5:5) that we would not be blinded by our arrogance and pride.

Watch or listen to this week’s sermon.

4 Responses

  1. […] often soften the sound of sin because we are too proud to face the music, and as we’ve seen before, that can be pretty […]

  2. So true, Pastor. I’m also amazed at the proud and wicked thoughts that my heart conjures up. A companion verse to I Peter 5:5 is Proverbs 3:34: “Surely he scorneth the scorners, but he giveth grace to the lowly” (I hope I got that right).

  3. As someone pointed out long ago, both “pride” and “sin” have “I” in the middle. The answer is so simple, and yet we refuse to recognize it. “He must increase, but I must decrease.” John 3:30.

Leave a Reply

