Me? More Than Three Messages a Week?!

bibleI recently told a group of spiritually hungry-hearted teenagers that if they were serious about turning out for God they needed to listen to preaching outside of Sunday morning, evening and Wednesday night. They looked at me, like, “You got to be kidding me! There’s so much to do – homework, Facebook, Play Station, clean my room or a potential root canal.”

But why should a Christian listen to preaching outside of the typical three services? “Don’t we get enough preaching?” or “If I have a hard time obeying what I’ve already heard, why more?” These could be typical responses, but let me suggest a few reasons to listen to preaching outside of Sundays and Wednesdays.

  1. The World Preaches. It doesn’t matter where I go, the mall, bank, grocery store or gas station — everybody is preaching a message that either does or does not reinforce biblical principles. The world tells me, through song or advertisement, I need that, whatever “that” is. My Bible tells me my real need is more of Christ. Colossians 2:8, “Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.”
  2. My Heart Preaches. My heart is constantly talking to me. Reminding me of my unworthiness to go to God in prayer, reminding me of recent failures, reminding me that spiritual “highs” come and go and that my flesh will still be with me, so why bother? My heart needs encouragement to walk by faith, to meditate on Christ and what He has accomplished. I often find that when I listen to preaching a question is answered or needed direction is given through a specific text of Scripture. I need God’s Word preached to me.
  3. My God can be Silenced All Too Easily. Our family gets in the car after Sunday morning and we talk about Sunday School lessons. We then move on to “what’s for lunch? Is anyone coming over after church tonight?” What God was doing in my heart fewer than 20 minutes ago is all but gone, not because the message wasn’t powerful or that God is too weak to preserve the truth, but rather because I have silenced Him, intentionally or unintentionally. I find that, in addition to my daily devotions, God speaks to my heart through this God-ordained method of communication to His people.

Here are a few links to kick-start your new-found help in your Christian life. Happy listening!

Rand Hummel of the Wilds’ Christian Camp preached this at a recent Maranatha Baptist Bible College chapel.

Dr. Jim Berg of Bob Jones University preached this in a recent chapel.

Evangelist Keven Brownfield preached this in October here at Bethel.

4 Responses

  1. Very excellent thoughts. One of the great things about living with the technology that we have in this age. While we have unlimited access to all types of temptation and sin we also have unlimited access to Christ centered preaching that we can take with us anywhere we go. Thanks for the links to Rand Hummel’s message.

    • Dave,

      You are so right and I believe we’ll be held accountable to all the means of spiritual growth we have available for us today.

      By the way, we still need your help on working on the podcasts.

  2. Pastor Mosier,
    My parents (Colin and Susan Hansen) attend Bethel and got first me and then my husband hooked on listening to the messages from Bethel. We look forward each week to adding to what we hear at our home church (Cornerstone Church, Warwick, RI), and it has been a huge blessing and encouragment to us. My husband will be headed to Afghanistan this summer and he hopes to use these message to remain spiritually sharp while there. We appreciate this ministry more than you can imagine.

  3. Jenny,

    How encouraging to know that messages preached at Bethel are ministering to folks outside of our church! We are looking into trying to podcast the sermons too, which would be a help of getting them sent directly to an iPod, rather than checking the site. Thank you for your encouraging words. We appreciate your folks.

Leave a Reply

