Thank God for Moms Who Pray

I thank the Lord for a mother who prayed. Like many kids growing up in a Christian home, I would at times sink deeply into seasons of sin. Without exception, it was always the prayers of my mother and God’s timely answers to those prayers that awoke me to my need to return to the Lord.

My namesake is John Wesley (Jacob Wesley Grogan), and I don’t doubt that my mom often took her cue from Wesley’s mother, Susanna. Susanna Wesley, although she experienced greater hardship than many of us can imagine, put in long hours on her knees. She gave birth to 19 children and buried nine of them. She brought her family through two devastating house-fires. She pulled a five-year-old John Wesley out of a burning building. She was separated from her husband for an entire year, left to raise her children all on her own. 

While I could go on to relate more of Susanna’s heart-wrenching trials, it was her faith–her devotion to God and the salvation of her children’s souls–that has made her famous. She once wrote, “I will tell you what rule I observed when I was young, and too much addicted to childish diversions–never to spend more time in mere recreation in one day than I spent in private religious devotions.”

Susanna Wesley took the time to systematically and rigorously instruct her children in the truths of the Gospel, always deeply concerned with the salvation of their souls. But she did her best work in prayer.

In the midst of a chaotic and cramped home (ten children!), Susanna had a unique way of entering the throneroom of her heavenly Father. She would throw her apron up over her head and sit quietly in the makeshift “prayer closet” for extended periods of time. Her children knew not to disturb her during these intense times of intercession.

Moms, you may feel overwhelmed, overworked, underappreciated, or unnoticed, but one thing is for sure. God hears. Your prayers can light an unquenchable spiritual fire in your home that will burn through the ages. “Be careful [anxious] for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God” (Phil. 4:6).

Thank you, God, for moms who pray.

One Response

  1. Jake, There is no doubt that prayer is essential in every aspect of a Mother’s life. Knowing God and communicating with him each day is what makes us aware and effective as Mothers. Please know that you and Bethel Baptist Church are in my continued daily prayers. I love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

