I’d Like to Buy a Vowel, Please.

Wheel of Fortune“I’d like to buy a vowel, please.” Famous words, but sometimes a vowel can make all the difference in the world. By simply changing a vowel, it goes from being a task to being an opportunity. Let me explain.

I would often say to myself as a teenager and sometimes my parents, especially on Sunday mornings, “I got to get up because today is church.” My parents taught me to change one simple letter within that word. “Joel, it’s not that you got to go to church. It’s that you get to go to church today.”

It’s not that we have “got” to pray, but we “get” to pray the God who made this world.

It’s not that I have “got” to read my Bible, but rather that I “get” to read the Lord’s specific instructions to me.

It’s not that I have “got” to to tithe to my church, but that I “get” to give back to the Lord only ten percent of everything that the Lord gives me.

It’s not that I’ve “got” to sing, but that I “get” to sing to my Creator.

It’s not that I’ve “got” to witness to other, but that I am given the tremendous privilege of getting to witness to others of what my Savior, Jesus Christ, accomplished on the cross.

This is not positive thinking or somehow tricking our brain into thinking a different way. This really is Philippians 2 type thinking, “Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus….”

So the next time you’re tempted, go ahead and buy that vowel. Just make sure it’s an “E”.

Leave a Reply

