That Old Gospel Tract

Thanks to Ken Boyd, a deacon at Bethel Baptist Church, for this guest post.

gods simple plan of salvationMost people eat lunch 12 o’clock in the middle of the day. If you can remember a half hour before lunch is 11:30 and place Proverbs before 11:30 you get Proverbs 11:30, “He who winneth souls is wise.” God wants us to be soul-winners and to share the Gospel with others.

Some years ago when I was doing some contracting work at a large cough drop plant in Hatboro, PA, I had given a man named Joe a gospel tract. We passed each other a few times inside the plant, but I couldn’t really talk but to say “hi” because we were both on the clock. I wouldn’t see Joe that often because of the hundreds of people working there.

About four years later when I was doing another job at the plant, I was up about three scaffolds doing some work and a voice said “excuse me.” I looked down and it was this fellow, Joe. I climbed down off the scaffold and said, “Can I help you?” Joe reached in his pocket, pulled out his wallet, and took out a badly tattered piece of paper. It  was a gospel tract that read “The King’s Insurance Co.” Joe said, “You gave this to me about four years ago and I was wondering if you could get me a new one.” I said, “Joe, if you will give me that old tract I will give you three new ones.” And I did, two days later.

I had forgotten I had given Joe that tract, but after that day I will never forget about how we must never underestimate the power of God’s Word, if we will only obey Him. Romans 1:16 states, “I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ, for it is the power of God unto salvation.”

Hand out a tract and win some souls!

2 Responses

  1. Thanks so much Mr. Boyd! What an encouragement!

  2. That is awesome, Mr. Boyd. I work with so many people on a day to day basis, and have passed out tracts to a few of my co-workers over the years. Your story was an encouragement and a wonderful reflection of God’s power.

Leave a Reply

