Using Stories to Teach Our Children

King Without a ShadowHave you read any good stories lately?  Good stories make wholesome impressions on the mind.  They help shape our thinking.  The best of books even impress and satisfy the soul.  I don’t think I’ll ever forget reading Tale of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens.  The final words of the book made a lasting impression on my mind; the character of Sydney Carton says this:  “It is a far, far better thing I do than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to, than I have ever known.”

But the reason for this post is to recommend another excellent book for parents to read to their children. The King Without a Shadow, by R. C. Sproul, is an intriguing story of a boy and a king who have questions about shadows.   My children love it.  Not only does the book captivate the imagination, but it also teaches important lessons about the shadow of sin on our souls and the brightness of the holiness of God.  You may want to check for it at half.com.  We have successfully found many “like new” books here, for a fraction of the cost of new.

And if you haven’t read the Dickens story, you now need to read that, too, if you are ever going to understand the final words of the book.  I don’t think I gave too much away.

Leave a Reply

