Ladies Conference (already?)

Oh, no! I'll have the kids for the entire weekend.I don’t know how you (i.e. husbands) feel when the Ladies Conference rolls around each year. If you’re like me, there may be the feeling of being overwhelmed. I mean, how many times can I eat frozen pizza or food from a can in a given weekend? And think of the kids – my brain is almost in a state of overload and meltdown as I type these words.

Yet I find when my wife attends a conference that encourages her spiritually, like the Ladies Conference, she comes back refreshed, rejuvenated and reinvigorated. Ready to tackle life from a different perspective.

I think that this is part of my meeting the biblical requirements of being a 1 Peter 3 husband where the Bible states in verse seven, “Likewise, ye husbands, dwell with them according to knowledge, giving honour unto the wife, as unto the weaker vessel, and as being heirs together of the grace of life.” Part of the knowledge I must work with is knowing that my wife needs and desires fellowship with other ladies and encouragement from the Word of God. While I may have to eat a few pieces of frozen pizza or reacquaint myself with Chef Boyardee and his spaghettios, I believe the weekend is well worth the time and money to see my wife to be encouraged in the things of the Lord.

Now what would really top the weekend off after all that spiritual growth and encouragement is for her to come home Saturday evening to a clean house, empty dishwasher, kids already fed and a husband who will listen to her talk about everything that happened over those 18+ hours.

Just make sure to have the pizza delivery guy’s number nearby.

Leave a Reply

