Meet Our New Youth Pastor – part 1

We are excited about having Pastor Irving, his wife, Hannah, and their boys as the newest addition to our pastoral staff. Pastor Irving was kind, during this busy time of transition, to answer some question about he and his family.

How long have you and your wife been married?
8 years  (9 years on May 8th)

How did you and Hannah meet? 
Hannah’s cousin introduced us in the dating parlor at Bob Jones University, just after I SLAMMED her out in a game of round robin (ping-pong).  She was the only girl left in the game.  We might have ganged up on her.  It’s all a bit fuzzy.  It might have been my idea too.  I don’t remember clearly. She said I came across as a total snob. 

Tell us about your children. 
Ethan is 5 and is into anything that involves learning.  He has loved K4 this year.  He is passionate about everything.  He is always “all-out.”  Whether in “minding his mom” or in making mischief he is giving his whole heart!  We keep telling ourselves, “One day he will be strong-willed for Jesus.”  We foresee the move being difficult for him.  He struggles with any kind of change.  But once he makes the turn he will be all about it!

Eric is our sweet smiling sneaky one.  He is almost 4 and is lots of fun.  He is super-photogenic.  While Ethan will often play shy when he meets strangers that’s never the case with Eric.  “Hi everybody!” would be Eric’s attitude with strangers. 

Seth is so much fun right now.  He is 16 months old.  He is learning to walk and trying new words.  He is definitely a people person and generally has a smile for everybody.

Do you have any pets? If not, what kind of pet would you want to have? 
NOPE!  Don’t get me wrong.  I love pets, other people’s pets.  To put it into a phrase, “Pets are great from a distance.”  But with four boys we’ll see if we make it all the way through without at least one dog. 

Do you exercise? If so, what do you do?
I recently got into running (beginner) triathlons (swimming, cycling, and running).  I especially enjoyed the cycling part.  I must admit I never thought I would be cycling.  I think I enjoy the camaraderie with my friends.  We recently rode 110 miles in a weekend; 60 miles to a hotel where we met our wives and kids and 50 (a shorter route) back.  I’m hoping to get one last ride in with my close friends this weekend.

What sport do you like to play and/or watch?
My favorite sport to play is competitive badminton.  Just kidding! I grew up playing both basketball and soccer, but I love to play almost any sport (from football to golf).  Basketball is my favorite sport.  An interesting note:  Mrs. Mosier’s father was my basketball coach from 7th grade to 12th grade, and I guess in a lot of ways, he still is. 

Typically, I would rather play sports than watch.  I haven’t really kept up with any sport since graduate school, but I love March Madness. 

What do you and your family do for fun?
The boys and Dad love to wrestle!  The boys call it, “playing bad guys.”  Even little Seth will jump in and growl as he crosses into the tangled limbs and flailing brotherly fun.  One of the most memorable times was when they started assigning characters: Superman, T-Rex, Baby Dinosaur and Patch the Pirate!

Leave a Reply

