A Confident Prayer

One thing that we know about prayer is that when we pray according to God’s will, we will receive that petition.

And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us:  And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him. (1 Jn. 5:14-15)

Part of our struggle in prayer is asking “amiss” as James puts it; other times, it may be that we do not discern God’s will.  Last Sunday the choir sang this prayer:

Be Thou my Wisdom, and Thou my true Word;
I ever with Thee and Thou with me, Lord;
Thou my great Father, and I Thy true son;
Thou in me dwelling, and I with Thee one.

Look at that last line again.  I find great comfort in that prayer, because this is a prayer strikingly similar to one prayed by Jesus himself.  Let’s not miss the fact that Jesus prayed these words for us:

Neither pray I for these alone, but for them also which shall believe on me through their word; That they all may be one; as thou, Father, art in me, and I in thee, that they also may be one in us: that the world may believe that thou hast sent me. (Jn. 17:20, 21)

Now, I don’t think Jesus was in the habit of not praying according to the will of His Father.  Even in Gethsemane, he chose his Father’s will, as opposed to his own human desire.  Because Jesus prayed this for us, we may pray with confidence the same thing:  Father, make me one with You.

While there may be some mystery as to what that fully means for us, I find great strength, encouragement, and assurance in knowing that this prayer is one God will answer.  For one, it is the will of the Father.  Two, I know the Spirit is making intercession for me according to the will of the Father.  What great encouragement there is for us to persevere, to press on, because “he which hath begun a good work in [us], will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.” (Phil. 1:6)  Being one with the Father means there is available to us an abundance of wisdom, strength, fellowship, comfort, guidance, and on and on it goes.

We would jump up and down if God dropped a large sum of money into our laps.  How often do we rejoice over the oneness of fellowship that God is giving us in this life? Praise God that Jesus paid the price and bore sin’s curse that we could receive this adoption!

Leave a Reply

