Eternal Impact Through Christian Education

Mr. Kemmerer with two of his original students now in Christian education.

I was recently reminded of the importance of impacting the next generation for Christ when I had the opportunity to attend a benefit for a former teacher. In 1974, I began attending a new Christian school and Mr. Les Kemmerer was my sixth grade teacher. There were 6 of us in his original class (which actually was a combined class that met in the same room with the 5th grade class). Of the original six students in my class, three are actively involved in Christian education today.

Mr. Kemmerer was diagnosed with stage 4, inoperable cancer earlier this year. The benefit was sponsored by former students with over 300 former parents, students, co-workers and friends attending on a Saturday afternoon to express their appreciation and love for a man who had made a difference in their lives. His faithfulness in impacting lives through Christian education over the past 35 years is an inspiration and a challenge.

Mr. Kemmerer has touched not only my life but also my wife’s and in recent years the lives of my sons as their coach and teacher. Through his faithfulness to Christian education, he has had a part in impacting two generations of my family for Christ.

Are the sacrifices made for Christian education really worth it? Many of the stories that I shared with friends that I had not seen for many years centered around the impact that Mr. Kemmerer had made on our lives. I repeatedly heard of the ways that Mr. Kemmerer had challenged them to live for Christ in their teenage years. In the light of eternal values, I would say that any sacrifice made for Christian education is definitely worth it!

2 Responses

  1. As we look at all that is going on, you can’t help but think of Rick Harris too and the tremendous impact he has had as a teacher in so many of our lives.

  2. Russ, thanks for the reminder on education. I am teaching at a local public school and consider it mission work. This past week 5 teens from school came to our youth outling at churck. God continues to bless. I taught at WSCS with Les and Nancy & had two of their children before leaving for grad school. They are truly a blessing.

Leave a Reply

