Teen Mission Team Character Qualities

Every time I lead a missions trip for our teens I am burdened about having them prepared to truly minister to others.  Here are a few of the character qualities that we desire to develop through the renewing of our minds. 

SENSITIVITY – The careful, continual awareness of God’s working in every situation coupled with a ready, willing, submission to quickly obey His promptings in meeting the needs of others.

Mat 9:36 But when he saw the multitudes, he was moved with compassion on them, because they fainted, and were scattered abroad, as sheep having no shepherd.

Jud 1:22 And of some have compassion, making a difference:

MATURITY – Allowing my Heavenly Father to parent me by consciously choosing His desires before my own.

1 Cor. 13:11 When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.

Luke 22:42 Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done.

1 Tim 4:12 Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.

FLEXIBILITY – joyfully allowing God to take the reins of my circumstances and redirect them for His glory and the greatest possible good.

John 8:29 And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him.

Mark 10:45 For even the Son of man came not to be ministered unto, but to minister, and to give his life a ransom for many.

Mark 10:43 But so shall it not be among you: but whosoever will be great among you, shall be your minister:

BUOYANCY – An attitude that quickly “floats back to the top” believing that God is bigger than any circumstance. The ability to recover quickly from a disappointment or failure. It is a, “faith outlook” on all of life’s circumstances.

Mat 13:31 Another parable put he forth unto them, saying, The kingdom of heaven is like to a grain of mustard seed, which a man took, and sowed in his field:

Jer 32:27 Behold, I [am] the LORD, the God of all flesh: is there any thing too hard for me?

Other character traits might include:  servants heart, initiative, etc.  Can you think of any other character traits to meditate on before a mission trip?  Can you think of a more creative way to communicate some of the above truths in a memorable way for teens?  I look forward to your input.

Leave a Reply

