Learning to Walk Again

Do you remember when your child began to take their first steps? All the uneasiness, bumps and bruises? Those times that they fell were gentle reminders by their legs, brain or gravity that they still hadn’t quite yet learned to walk as they should.

I’m reminded of this truth when it comes to my spiritual life. Over and over again, especially in the Old Testament, the Lord states that His nation, Israel, were to “walk before Him.”

  • Genesis 17.1 And when Abram was ninety years old and nine, the LORD appeared to Abram, and said unto him, I am the Almighty God; walk before me and be thou perfect.
  • 1 Samuel 2.30 Wherefore the LORD God of Israel saith, I said indeed that thy house, and the house of thy father, should walk before me for ever…for them that honor me I will honor….
  • 1 Kings 2.4 That the LORD may continue his word which he spake concerning me saying, If thy children take heed to their way, to walk before me in truth with all their heart and with all their soul, there shall not fail thee (said he) a man on the throne of Israel.
  • 1 Kings 9.4 If thou wilt walk before me….

In the New Testament we are regularly reminded that are Christian life is paralleled to walking.

  • 2 Corinthians 5.7 For we walk by faith and not by sight.
  • Galatians 5.16 This I say then, walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh.
  • Galatians 5.26 If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.

When I fall spiritually I am reminded that like that young toddler I am being reminded by a gracious God that my spiritual muscles aren’t as strong as they should be and that I need His strength to walk.

If you’ve fallen recently, don’t be discouraged. It’s a gracious teaching time by a loving heavenly Father who is helping us to walk again.

Leave a Reply

