Pastor Appreciation Day

We are excited about this coming Sunday as we will be celebrating Pastor Campbell’s 40th birthday and more specifically his 5th Anniversary as Senior Pastor of Bethel Baptist Church. In fact each day this week we will have a special blog post as we lead into this coming Sunday.

We recognize and express appreciation because of 1 Timothy 5:17 which tells us that there are certain pastors who should “be counted worthy of double honor, especially they who labor in the word and doctrine.”

Relationships are so important in the believer’s life. My relationship with the Lord is primary. Following my relationship with my wife and family, the next most important relationship I need to protect is my relationship with my pastor. I’m not speaking as an assistant pastor or employee. I’m speaking as a believer and fellow church member. I need to protect this relationship for three reasons:

1) My primary means of growth is in connection with my local church especially through the teaching and preaching ministry of  Pastor. I must understand that the Devil will attempt to do anything and everything to push me away from a positive relationship with my Pastor, considering that the Devil knows that one of the God-ordained means of growth for the Christian is through pulpit ministry of our Pastor. God has ordained the local church as the visible representation of His body on earth (Colossians 1.18). The last thing I want to do is to do damage to Christ’s body on earth.

2) There are many individuals, groups and organizations that are vying for my spiritual following, but the primary aspect of spiritual leadership is given by the Pastor. Think of all the really great, encouraging ministries that are available in our technology saturated culture. Passionate radio preachers, helpful websites, encouraging blogs and other edifying material for my spiritual consumption that is meant for personal growth in Christ. It is very easy to give my allegiances to an internet ministry, para-church organization, college or camp ministry, but God reminds us that He has equipped the local church pastor/shepherd as the primary means of spiritual leadership.

3) One day my pastor will give account for me. At least that’s what Hebrews 13:7, 17 teach, “Remember them which have the rule over you, who have spoken unto you the word of God: whose faith follow, considering the end of their conversation. Obey them that have the rule over you, and submit yourselves: for they watch for your souls, as they that must give account, that they may do it with joy, and not with grief: for that is unprofitable for you.”

I have had 5 pastors over my lifetime. My father was my pastor for the majority of my life and since the time I left home for college I have had four pastors from then until now. I am to follow their faith. One day God will hold these men accountable. They have watched for my soul. Wow, what sobering thoughts!

Pastor Appreciation Day is not simply another special emphasis day. It really is an attempt to guard our hearts and souls spiritually and at the same time encourage the spiritual shepherd that God has placed you and me under.

One Response

  1. […] 8. Pastor Appreciation Day […]

Leave a Reply

