Why some showers feel better than others…

I was mowing my lawn last week (if you’re from the south; I was cuttin’ my grass).  As I trimmed the yard, dirt and grass clippings began to stick to the sweat on my calves and shins.   The coagulated mess of mud and lawn clippings soon became reminiscent of old previews of the “swamp thing”.  I even had a long run of blood from just below my knee to the top of my ankle that was now pooling and soaking into my sock. 

Just as I was finishing, Hannah walked out of the house.  She looked at me and said, “Whoa!”  I looked down surprised to see how truly disgusting my condition.  Up until now, I had felt pretty good about how I was doing.  I was focused on my project.  I wanted to make sure I didn’t miss any strips of grass.  I was careful to trim every area of need in the yard.  But now, the only thing I could think about was getting a shower! 

Have you ever noticed that; the dirtier you are the better a shower feels?  That’s exactly what Jesus was saying to the Pharisees with regard to the woman who washed his feet with her tears. 

Luke 7:47  Wherefore I say unto thee, Her sins, which are many, are forgiven; for she loved much: but to whom little is forgiven, the same loveth little. 

The problem of the Pharisees and even of Jesus disciples was that they saw this woman as a “sinner” but classified themselves otherwise.  Jesus point was; everyone who sees themselves as God sees them has been forgiven much.  Happy is the person who sees what God sees and rushes to take a spiritual shower.  “Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted.” 

William Cowper said it well, “The vilest thief rejoiced to see that fountain in his day, and there may I, though vile as he, wash all my sins away.”

Have you been too focused on other things to notice your spiritual condition?  Do you find it easy to magnify the sin of others but rationalize your own?  Why is that?  What should you be reminded of every time you see someone else’s sin?   Do you love much because you’ve been forgiven much?

2 Responses

  1. […] Why Some Showers Feel Better than Others […]

  2. Very well said. Just like David when confronted with his own sin while thinking it was someone else the prophet Nathan was describing, he got very angry at the person who did that horrific atrocity. He thought they should be severely punished for their wickedness—until he found out that God was speaking through Nathan to tell him: “Thou art the man…..” We are so “proud” of ourselves when we do well and literally turn a blind eye to our own sin while condemning others for doing the same wicked things we have already committed.

Leave a Reply

