Motivation for Ministry

I don’t know about you but there are times when I feel like I could care less? Checklists, who needs checklists? A plan, maybe tomorrow? Let the grass grow another week. That coat of paint can wait until next summer. But what makes me even more frightened is that these feelings creep into my spiritual life. Read Bible. Check. Pray. Check. But there’s no feeling or desire to be whole-hearted while doing them. How about these? I’ll witness next time. I’ll tithe next paycheck. I’ll write that note of encouragement tomorrow. I’ll volunteer if they ask “one more time”. There are times when motivation is hard to come by. Sometimes it’s sin, sometimes it’s lukewarmness, sometimes its selfishness. The question is not, “What is it?” The question is, “How do I overcome it?” Here are a few ways I motivate myself to overcome my lukewarmness, selfishness and lack of desire…

  1. Remember the Judgment Seat of Christ.
    There’s coming a day when I will give account before my Lord so serve and labor for the Lord. 2 Corinthians 5:10 states, “For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ; that every one may receive the things done in his body, according to that he hath done, whether it be good or bad.”
  2. Remember ministry will not always be available.
    Jesus reminded us in John 9.4, “the night cometh, when no man can work.” My opportunity to serve and to accomplish something for the Lord will not always be available. I’m reminded that there is coming a time, and soon, when no man will be able to work. Time will be no more and man will stand accountable before the Lord.
  3. Remind yourself of the big picture.
    I am one piece to a much larger puzzle that God is putting together through my local church. If I don’t do my job, who will? We are each uniquely gifted and bring our own life experiences, spiritual gifts and personality together to accomplish something together that we never would have by ourselves.
  4. Recall the Lord’s mercies.
    Lamentations 3:22,  “It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not.” How can I not serve the God who has withheld his judgment and wrath and in its place gave me mercy?
  5. Renew your personal commitment to the Lord.
    When you stop and take time to pause and think of all that God has done for you in your life it’s time to recommit yourself to accomplishing God’s task here on earth. Dedicating yourself to God isn’t something done as a high-schooler, but something done on a daily basis as you die to self and live for Christ.

So if you’re unmotivated to accomplish something for the Lord…remember, remind, recall and renew.

I’d love to hear how you get rejuvenated for ministry day after day, week after week?

2 Responses

  1. “It is a sin to do less than your best.”

  2. That is definitely a helpful reminder, Brett. I don’t always need to “feel” something to be motivated – living by biblical principle rather feelings.

Leave a Reply

