How is that Application Coming?

Special thanks to John Moon, one of our pastoral interns, for this guest post.

Men and women who apply the Scripture’s truth to their daily lives have always inspired me. Bill Rice of the Bill Rice Ranch (a Christian camp in Tennessee) is known for his favorite verse, Psalm 118:24. No matter what the day was like, if you asked him he would always reply with the same way:

“Hey Bill, Its going to rain today are you worried that the kids won’t get to play outside?”

With genuine tone Bill Rice would reply, “This is the day which the LORD hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.”

“Hey Bill, everything is going wrong today, we ran out of food, one of the campers is hurt, and we can’t find the microphone.”

Bill: “This is the day…”

That verse was a necessary part of his walk with God! We must apply God’s word to our life if we are going to walk with God.
I have found myself feeling defeated in my sin. I know that I am right with God, and that Christ has wiped away my sin. However, I claim with Paul the cry of Romans 7:18-19 “For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do.”

Most of us have felt this way one time or another, if not quite often. We consciously do not want to sin, yet we do.  We acknowledge that we want to do right, but we don’t.  And if these two verses were all there is than we would have reason to continually feel defeated.  In a grunt of frustration Paul exclaims, “Wretched man that I am, who can deliver me from this body of death?”

But! This is not it! There is more! It is quickly answered by application of what he knows in the next verse and following into chapter 8. “There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus, who walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.” (Rom. 8:1)

He applied that same principle that is found in Galatians 5: “Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lusts of the flesh.”

For me personally I must constantly remind myself that “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” (1 Cor. 10:13) When I apply this to my life than my walk with God is made easier, and the temptation is more easily overcome, because I have a foundation of God’s promise to stand upon.

Now go and apply it!

Leave a Reply

