Image Bearers of God

Special thanks to John Moon, one of our church interns, for this guest post:

This past week a group from the single adult class went to New York City on a trip.  I had never been, so I was excited to see the city myself.  One thing that you notice in New York City is that there are all kinds of different people! I saw some of the craziest looking people that I have ever seen in my life! Some of those people naturally repulsed me, and to my shame I looked at them with disgust and I avoided them.

On the ferry ride back to Staten Island there was a particular couple of people that I was repulsed by and I expressed my disgust to some of the people around me.  But as I watched the couple disappear into the crowd before me, God reminded me of a truth I had learned long ago, but clearly had forgotten.  The entire train ride back to our car in the back of my mind was this truth:

THOSE PEOPLE WERE IMAGE BEARERS OF GOD.

It is very tempting to look at a person who does not know Christ and who is living in sin and be repulsed by their actions, looks, or speech.  But we can never ever forget that that person was made in the image of God!

Here on earth human beings are unique from any other creature because we have both body and soul.  Every man and woman alive has this uniqueness.  Genesis 1:26-27 says,

And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness… so God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.

In the very image of God we were made. No idol on earth, and not a single statue or painting of God even comes close to the image of God found in man.

So if the average “bum” on the street is an image bearer of God than we must look at him with a new light! Now that man is not a disgusting sub-level person but an image bearer of God and he needs to know of the God in whose image he is made!

To look at a sinner and be repulsed by their sinfulness is a horrible mistake. They do not know Christ! So how can we expect them to act like a Christian?  Of course they are in sin, they are lost, and that is what lost people do. They sin.  This truth was eye opening to me.

Now when you see a person and you are tempted to be repulsed by them, remember, they are made in God’s image, and they were made by God (that’s right–God specifically created them!) and it is our job to remember that it is only by the grace of God that we are not in that person’s shoes and that we are to take the message that changed our life to them so that theirs can be changed also!

Leave a Reply

