Wash Me Now

Thanks to Mike Morton, one of our church interns, for this guest post.

When I was young, my parents always made it a point that I wash myself daily. Like a normal boy though, I did not always want to wash myself everyday. I figured if I was not dirty then I was clean. However, if my parents noticed that I had not washed in a few days, they had a test that never failed. All it took was a little sniff, and I soon found out I was not clean!

This is true of our spiritual life. We may go about each day knowing that there is sin in our life. As long as our sin has not dirtied our appearance, we sometimes go several days before we confess our sins. However, we forget that our sin stinks! God is repulsed by the odors emanating from our sin! What we need is a good, old-fashion cleansing!

In Psalm 51, David is seeking cleansing because of his sin with Bathsheba. David’s sin was worthy of death. In fact, if his sin had been discovered he most likely would have been put to death despite his position. After the prophet Nathan rebuked David for his sin, David broke down and wrote this prayer seeking forgiveness and cleansing.

In this prayer David acknowledges three truths about his cleansing:

  1. First, he acknowledges that sin keeps him from cleansing. Throughout this passage, David says, “I have sinned.” The truth is that we all have sinned, but until we realize that sin is in our life we will not confess it. Our nature does not want to admit that we have wronged. We all have been “shapened in iniquity,” and “conceived in sin.” Before cleansing, we have to acknowledge our sin.
  2. Second, he acknowledges that his cleansing came from God. In our sinfulness we could never wash our sins away. Even our good is not good enough. The Bible says, “Our righteousness is as filthy rags.” Our cleansing comes from the one that did not sin. Hebrews 4:14 tells us that Christ was “in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin.” His perfection washes us white as snow! 1 John 1:9 says, “If we confess our sin, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sin, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”
  3. Lastly, he acknowledges that his cleansing has restored him back to God. Our sin keeps us from God. Psalm 66 says, “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not here me.” However in Psalm 51 David desires a clean heart and restoration. God is in the restoration business, and he wants to restore you!

Being clean feels great! After my parents told me to go wash, I was amazed at the refreshment I felt. When we confess our sin we will feel great! God tells us to confess our sin, and when we do we will sense refreshment! We all have a choice. We can live our life in sin, or we can live our life in satisfaction. The choice is up to you!

Leave a Reply

