Growing Through Distractions from Family

For some time, I have been guilty of allowing other distractions to keep me from investing and discipling my family . Coming to this realization of the God-given responsibilities I’ve been charged with is not easy or enjoyable. We heard preached a few Sundays ago [listen here] about our appointed tasks to train our children in the ways of God.

And thou shalt teach them diligently unto thy children, and shalt talk of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, and when thou liest down, and when thou risest up. Deuteronomy 6:7

But I get distracted, very distracted. My distractions take various forms:

  • preoccupation with work responsibilities
  • ESPN/TV
  • online news
  • Twitter/Facebook
  • to put it bluntly my own selfishness

Some would say to do away with the TV, Facebook, Twitter, internet. Those are all viable options and certainly wouldn’t be a wrong thing to do, but is it really dealing with the core issue? The core issue being my lack of conviction about my responsibilities.

You see, we can blame why we do (or don’t do) on external variables, but in the end I must reckon with God’s words. I/we must take God’s words at face value. Someday I will stand before the Lord (and you will to0) and we will give account for our strategy in teaching/discipling our children to follow God.

We can say our strategy was to be involved in church, active in youth group, attend summer teen camp or enroll in a Christian college. But in the end parents our responsible for the discipling of those lives. Discipleship is a heart issue. Here are three quick, simple thoughts on discipling the next generation following us.

  1. We can model Christ-likeness by limiting competing interests in favor of Christ.
  2. We can model Christ-likeness by loving others more than loving myself.
  3. We can model Christ-likeness by leading others (by example and by intentional conversation) to a deeper relationship with Jesus.

One Response

  1. Joel you give me all the words of incouragment I need everyday. I am truly blessed to have a great Pastor and a wonderful friend. Jesus has seen me threw alot and been there for me everyday. Once again I am going threw some things and I need your prayers.Please pray for me .

Leave a Reply

