Finishing the Year Right

Well, Christmas is over. No doubt, by now, some Christmas toys have broke. You may have already returned a few gifts and you’re wondering when you’re going to take down the Christmas tree.New Year’s is just a few days away. In the middle of days off, the holidays and putting away Christmas decorations I want to give a few thoughts on finishing 2010 the right way.

  1. Spend some time reflecting on the blessings of 2010. Praise God for provisions, personal spiritual growth, family, friendships, Jesus.
  2. Spend some time reflecting on the failures of 2010. At times this can be painful. Don’t meditate on the failures as some sort of penance, but rather to understand why those failures came about. Was it a character flaw, a communication failure, selfishness?
  3. Don’t wait until January 1 to start reading your Bible. One of the best resolves that you could make for 2011 would be to read your Bible more consistently. For some 3 days a week would be a worthy goal, 5 days or daily, but don’t wait for 2011. Get ahead in your reading so that when you do miss a day here or there it won’t be so discouraging that you want to quit.
  4. Spend time with your family. I give this reminder, because I need to be reminded of it. I love the football of New Year’s Day, I enjoy the projects that need worked on, etc. I really need the reminder to spend extra time with my wife and kids during the closing days of 2010.
  5. Spend time with your church family.If you’ve just recently gotten into the habit of coming to church regularly the holiday time can be especially challenging because of family get-togethers, etc. Make a special effort to connect with your church family on Sundays.
  6. Make a few resolutions for 2011 that will help you spiritually. I know not everybody is a resolution person. Personally, I love them. I enjoy making the list out. I enjoy thinking about them. Do I always meet the goals? No. But I do hit some of them. I would urge you to make a few spiritual goals for 2011.

I hope you have a great end to 2010!

One Response

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Joel Mosier, Bethel Baptist PA. Bethel Baptist PA said: Finishing the Year Right: http://wp.me/ptFXw-OH […]

Leave a Reply

