A Question Worth Thinking About

The critical question for our generation – and for every generation – is this: If you could have heaven, with no sickness, and with all the friends you ever had on earth, and all the food you ever liked, and all the leisure activities you ever enjoyed, and all the natural beauties you ever saw, all the physical pleasures you ever tasted, and no human conflict or any natural disasters, could you be satisfied with heaven, if Christ was not there?

– Piper

HT: joelrockey.net

7 Responses

  1. It is more than ironic that you posted this question as just this morning on my way to work I thought “even so come Lord Jesus”. Then I stopped and thought – why? No because I want to see my Savior but to alleviate my “suffering”. What a rebuke. My true desire should be to see my Savior first of all. Like my Christofer Michael said in his sermon on Wednesday night New Year New Focus. I thank God for bringing to light my error no matter how stinging it is and I ask for the grace to move forward in trust and grow in love for the Lord.

    • I 100% agree Tena. My view of heaven is often bright and appealing because I don’t have to go through the “stuff of life” NOT the fact that I finally get to worship Jesus in person and experience Him.

      Btw, I heard Chris’ message was excellent. I’ve had many people tell me what a good message it was and how the Lord used it in their lives.

  2. Challenging thought! Just this week I found myself asking a very similar question in a counseling situation. The question for the counselee was, “Do you really want to glorify God with your life, or do you really wish there was way your sin could just not be wrong?” I know I find myself battling this mindset often. Thanks for the challenge!

  3. Quite the convicting thought, isn’t it? But not only is it convicting, it is also encouraging. Before Christ is added in the picture, heaven sounds pretty great. But when you add Him, the Son of God, all of that which sounded so great is nothing in comparison! What a joy to know that we will be in His presence for all of eternity!

  4. Great reminder. It’s just like our Lord to use a truth that is both convicting and encouraging – think it’s called grace:) What a gracious Savior!

    By the way, we’re excited at what God is doing up at Camp CoBeAc. We hear good things!

Leave a Reply

