Why I Love the Church

Some believers do not like church. I can understand negative experiences. I understand that local churches many times are not all they should be. I can’t understand having a complete either disdain for the church or an opinion that the local church is irrelevant. Jesus, the founder of the church stated, “I will build my church…” (Matthew 16.18), which underscores whose church it is―Jesus’.

I recently read this quote: “You can’t love Jesus and hate his wife. (Stetzer)” Ephesians 5 teaches us that the church is the bride of Christ. Wow! What a thought! I’m a part of something that the God of the universe gave His only Son to die for. Here’s why I love the church:

  1. Jesus started it and gave His life for it (Matthew 16.18).
  2. People from different backgrounds confess the same Master and Lord, Jesus Christ (Revelation 5.9).
  3. It’s not perfect, but one day it will be (Ephesians 5.27).
  4. The common bond of love identifies us (John 13.35).
  5. I love the preaching of the Bible (2 Timothy 4.2).
  6. I love the singing of the church family (Ephesians 5.19).
  7. The church family meets the needs of the widows (Acts 6.1).
  8. The wonderful testimonies of God’s grace in people’s salvation (1 Corinthians 1.4).
  9. The missionaries we support (Acts 16.9).
  10. Our friends in ministry (evangelists, missionaries, other local churches) (Ephesians 4.11).
  11. The daily and weekly growth that we see in each other’s lives (Hebrews 10.24).
  12. Men and women who challenge me to love Jesus and my family more (Mark 12.30).
  13. I’m challenged to give joyfully and live sacrificially for the advance of the Gospel (2 Corinthians 9.7).
  14. My children grow up seeing people’s lives changed by the Gospel of Jesus (2 Peter 3.18).
  15. It seems weak and powerless by an on-looking world, but it is the bearer of message which is the “power of God unto salvation” (Romans 1.16)
  16. ILMC: I Love My Church

Leave a Reply

