Ideas on Becoming a Servant

I am struck with shallowness that I think, meditate and apply specific texts of Scripture. One such passage is Mark 10:43-44

But whosoever will be great among you, shall be your minister: And whosoever of you will be the chiefest, shall be servant of all.

What does that look like? Does it simply mean I let my wife have the TV remote on Monday night and I don’t get to watch Monday Night Football or she gets to choose the pizza toppings? Surely, to be great in the kingdom it must mean something more than that.

I jotted down some quick ideas of ways we can serve one another within the context of the local church and do so with meaning (and hopefully with some depth):

  • I will serve you by engaging in meaningful conversation with you. I will genuinely ask, “How are you doing?” and mean it. I’ll wait to listen to your response and ask questions of you.
  • I will serve you be being happy to see you. I will smile with a heart that rejoices that you are a part of our local church family.
  • I will serve you by looking past your faults. I will forgive seventy times seven. I will give you the benefit of the doubt
  • I will serve you by singing joyfully and passionately about the truths that we wholeheartedly embrace.
  • I will serve you by walking with the Lord day in and day out. My life is not an island that only affects me. We are inter-connected as believers and I’ll guard my walk as a way of serving you.
  • I will serve you by gently and humbly confronting you.
  • I will serve you by stopping all gossip for the health of this local body.
  • I will give up my rights so that you are served. I have preferences, ideals and strong opinions. I will put those aside so that your needs can be met.

I want to be great in the kingdom of God, not because I want to be great, but I want to embrace the teachings that Jesus taught. I will serve you.

Leave a Reply

